Winter Wonderland

It’s that time of year again. The break-out-your-jacket, don’t-forget-your-gloves time of year– and this year’s supposed to be a cold one, at least where I’m at. So I’ve got a few things to do this season.

Check my blankets- I need to make sure my horse still has a blanket, and that it fits. While my boy rarely uses his blanket, it’s still a good thing to have on those 10 below days when I walk out to the barn and find him and his pasture buddy shivering violently. 

Re-evaluate my feeding- my horse is on Equine Senior, which should be helping him gain and maintain his winter weight. However, while I’m at school, my mother is the only one taking care of him. She has to manage our horses by herself, which means that I can’t demand that she feed small portions of Equine Senior 5 or 6 times a day. She has a job, after all. But you better believe I have done my research on this issue just in case I come home from school and find my horse underweight. 

Know my footing- I ride my horse year-round, and I have a pasture to ride in. No indoor arena, no arena at all. Not even sand. I have dirt and grass. Which is fine, but it means that I have to be careful this time of year. I had a bad fall a couple of years ago where I thought I was on solid footing. Unfortunately only the top layer of dirt was solid– beneath that was slick mud from a rain we had gone through 3 days ago. My horse and i both went down, and while I emerged from the fall just fine, it ended my horse’s jumping career. 

Those are just a few of the things I am considering in terms of horse care this winter. Here’s hoping that the weather predictions are wrong. 

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

